YOU ARE HERE: Home | Upcoming event | Japan Tour 2018

Japan Tour 2018

Musica Reale will appear in Ukiha (Fukuoka), Nagasaki and Tokyo between 17 and 21 November 2018.


Ukiha (Fukuoka)
17 November 2018

Concert venue and programme to follow.

18 November 2018

Workshop with local music students.

Brick Hall, Nagasaki
19 November 2018

Details to follow.

Hamarikyu Asahi Hall, Tokyo
20 November 2018 19.00

This programme combines two of music’s greatest composers, Mozart and Brahms, with two lesser known composers, each of whom had a link with greatness.

Julius Röntgen, a hugely prolific Dutch composer (well over 600 works), was befriended with Brahms and Grieg, accompanied such renowned soloists as Joachim, Flesch and Casals and composed music in a wide variety of styles, ranging from symphonies and vocal works to chamber music. The string trio on this program is number 14 of 16 composed between 1915 and 1930.

Schulhoff, had he not been killed by the Nazis for being an “entartete” (degenerate) composer because he was Jewish, was clearly destined to become a highly significant mid-twentieth century composer. The delightful Divertimento for oboe, clarinet and bassoon testifies to this assessment.

The Mozart oboe quartet and the Brahms clarinet quintet, both widely loved and highly virtuosic, highlight two of the RCO’s famous solo players.

Concert details on Hamarikyu Asahi Hall website (in Japanese)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

Oboe quartet in F K370 (1781)
1. Allegro
2. Adagio
3. Rondo: Allegro

Julius Engelbert Röntgen (1855-1932)

String trio in C minor no. 14 (1915-1930)
1. Allegro
2. Andantino con tenerezza
3. Scherzo
4. Finale fugato

Erwin Schulhoff (1894-1942)

Divertimento for oboe, clarinet, bassoon (1927)
1. Overtüre
2. Burlesca
3. Romanzero
4. Charleston
5. Tema con variationi e fugato
6. Florida
7. Rondino – finale


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Clarinet quintet in B minor op. 115 (1891)
1. Allegro
2. Adagio
3. Andantino presto non assai ma con sentimento
4. Con moto. Un poco meno mosso

Hamarikyu Asahi Hall, Tokyo
21 November 2018 14.00

Four of the pieces on this program are relatively early works of their composers, the exception being the Ibert “Cinq Pièces,” written when he was 45 years old.

Beethoven himself considered his great opus 9 number 3 trio to be one of his finest early works. It is both passionate and profound, a work of great power.

Britten’s oboe quartet (“Phantasy”) dates from his 18th year. It is an evocative, almost pastoral composition, employing all the tonal and expressive qualities of the oboe.

The two French composers, Poulenc and Ibert, share a great fluency in their writing for woodwind instruments. The little Poulenc Sonata is playful and reflective, characteristics of much of Poulenc’s work, while the Ibert pieces are witty and light hearted.

Mendelssohn’s first string quintet, written at the age of 17, is an already fully mature masterpiece. Its effortless command of structure, counterpoint and depth of emotion clearly identify the young composer as one of exceptional genius.

Concert details on Hamarikyu Asahi Hall website (in Japanese)

Ludwig van Beethoven

String trio in C minor op. 9 no. 3 (1797-8)
1. Allegretto
2. Andante quasi allegretto
3. Menuetto: allegro
4. Rondo: allegro

Benjamin Britten (1913 – 1976)

Phantasy quartet in F minor for oboe and string trio op. 2
Continuous: Andante alla marcia – Allegro giusto – Con fuoco – Andante alla marcia

Francis Poulenc (1899 – 1963)

Sonata for clarinet and bassoon in D major FP 32 (1922)
1. Allegro
2. Romance
3. Finale

Jacques Ibert (1890-1962)

Cinq Pièces en Trio for oboe, clarinet, bassoon (1935)
1. Allegro vivo
2. Andantino
3. Allegro assai
4. Andante
5. Allegro quasi marziale


Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (1809-1847)

String quintet in A major op. 18 no. 1 (1826)
1. Allegro con moto
2. Intermezzo: andante sostenuto
3. Scherzo: allegro di molto
4. Allegro vivace